I am not

I am not a uniform woman. I am not constant. I am not regular. I am not fixed, nor equal, to an average. I am myself. I am who I want to be, when I want to be. I am free.

Free because of the women who fought for my freedom after men in uniform fought for theirs.  Men whom women tend to forget fought for the same rights that gave them a right to fight for theirs.

Uniforms that were ripped and torn,

Shot through and bled through.

Uniformed men that carried the dead to be buried –

Placed in a grave surround by mothers, wives, children.

They will never know regular. Fixed. Constant. Average.

 

I am not uniform, yet I am free because of them.

via Daily Prompt: Uniform

2 thoughts on “I am not

Leave a Reply

